FGC-IPM Joint Number Theory Webinars

FGC and IPM jointly organized a Number Theory Meeting on March 15 - 17, 2021. There is a link to this event. It was decided that seminars will be conducted once every two weeks on Tuesdays (allowing irregularities when this does not fit). Below is list of the upcoming talks along with archive of the past meetings.


Upcoming Talks

Speaker: Andrzej Dabrowski (University of Szczecin)
Title: On a class of generalized Fermat equations of signature $(2,2n,3)$
Abstract : We will discuss the generalized Fermat equations $Ax^2 + By^{2n} = 4z^3$, assuming (for simplicity) that the class number of the imaginary quadratic field $\mathbb Q(\sqrt{-AB})$ is one. The methods use techniques coming from Galois representations and modular forms; for small $n$'s one needs Chabauty type methods. Our results, conjectures (and methods) extend those given by Bruin, Chen et al. in the case $x^2 + y^{2n} = z^3$. This is a joint work with K. Chałupka and G. Soydan.
Time: Tuesday, December 7, 2021, 15:00 Tehran time (14:30 Istanbul time)
Zoom link: click here
Meeting ID: 989 8485 8471
Passcode: 039129


Speaker: Amir Ghadermarzi (University of Tehran)
Title and Abstract: TBA
Time: Tuesday, December 21, 2021, 17:30 Tehran time (17:00 Istanbul time)
Zoom link: click here
Meeting ID: 908 611 6889
Passcode: 362880


Speaker: Fatma Cicek (IIT Gandhinagar)
Title and Abstract: TBA
Time: Tuesday, January 4, 2022
Zoom link:


Speaker: Reda Boumasmoud (Institut für Mathematik Universität Zürich)
Title and Abstract: TBA
Time: Tuesday, February 1, 2022, 15:00 Tehran time (14:30 Istanbul time)
Zoom link: click here
Meeting ID: 908 611 6889
Passcode: 362880